PDA

View Full Version : Exploding Comp



Zerocool
04-29-2011, 05:07 AM
So in all seriousness my computer caught on fire then pretty much had a mini explosion which almost had my whole room on fire crazy stuff right. So i'm using my cousin labtop atm and unfortunately it can't handle games so i'll be out of commission for a few weeks to a month while i build a new custom comp and make sure the thing fire proof. So i'll see ya all in 4-5 weeks hopefully if i can get most of the part fast or on sale if not see ya in 7 weeks.

echoseven
04-29-2011, 06:14 AM
hope you get it sorted soon mate

xXKawaiiXx
04-29-2011, 06:19 AM
HOLY SHOOT!!!!!!!!!! O_O THAT'S CRAZY!!! Did you like not turn off your computer ever? Hope your only some of your stuff got burned and no one got hurt man. Gotta make sure the new PC is really 100% fire proof or else another :bomb: of some sort will happen.


edit by alex2142hp no foul language please

Alex2142hp
04-29-2011, 06:40 AM
sorry to hear that buddy burn baby burn make sure to post new pics of ur built :wink:

Jackson
04-29-2011, 07:52 AM
Lol never heard that before. 20 days online or what?^^ . Hope everything is fine.

I know it's a strange question but: You have a pic of your burning PC???

A_Lucky_Hit
04-29-2011, 10:59 AM
Sorry to hear that, what started it a bad capacitor or dust build up?

Zerocool
04-29-2011, 11:43 AM
ya i had to get the remains inspected seems it was a power surge that overloaded the capacitor which then created a fire due to the dust inside my comp(sadly i always forget to clean my comp at times) which then overheated this hugh xps air fan over the processor which made it explode cheap stock fans are cheap. At least I was able to salvage my hard drive thx god for that.

A_Lucky_Hit
04-29-2011, 12:33 PM
So the power company or insurance is covering it?

Zerocool
04-29-2011, 02:16 PM
seem the defect is with the power supply so they going to cover the cost of fixing my damaged room and helping me fund my new comp although it not much of a check they are giving me but it should at least cover fixing my room at the very least.

A_Lucky_Hit
04-29-2011, 02:46 PM
Anything is better then nothing. What are you planning to build? Quad, hex, dual cores? Nvidia or ATI?

Zerocool
04-30-2011, 06:59 AM
still deciding but leaning on building this setup

*Windows 7 - 64 Bit
*Tower: Antec 1200
*Processor: Intel Core i7-990x Extreme 3.46GHz
*Ram: Patriot 16g Raptor DDR3 Triple Channel
*Graphics Card: EVGA Dual SLI Nvidia Geforce 560TI or Geforce GTX 590
*Mother Board: GIGABYTE G1 Assassin
*Power Supply: Corsair 750TX 750W
*Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM (x3)
* Kingston 64GB SSD

Pretty much i'm gonna go for broke building this thing if i can

A_Lucky_Hit
04-30-2011, 12:34 PM
Looks good but I have a few ideas,

750 should do that but you'll be at the to end of that so you way want a 850 or 1000 to make sure. I had a 750 and when I added a second 4890 it would play games but bluescreen in testing from the power draw. Moved to a 1000 watt and no issues and that was back with a quad core and only 2 HD but about 5 fans. Now the 1000 still covers a hex core, dual 5870's, 6 HD's, 8 fans, and UV lighting without any issues.

On the SSD make sure you get the 3 gen versions and there are some out now that a VERY fast 550 read from a single drive
64 fills up fast with the OS and game but I know cost is the issue I'm running 2 raid 60gb and only have about 20gb left

Look at these

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227714

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371036

Zerocool
04-30-2011, 09:44 PM
hehe ocz vertex was something a buddy of mine told me about i think i will switch to it since it will boost my rig by quite a bit.
as for the antec the only thing i'm worried about is that thick cables that comes with it but i'll really take a look if anything i might switch up the tower for more room if anything.

A_Lucky_Hit
04-30-2011, 11:11 PM
Better thick cables then not enough power ;-)

tsteel
05-01-2011, 12:24 AM
That is crazy! Hope everything gets worked out soon.

Zerocool
05-01-2011, 12:33 AM
Better thick cables then not enough power ;-)
ya I decided to switch cases so I don't have to worry about the cords much but now i have to choose between 3 good cases geez so many option on cases.

A_Lucky_Hit
05-01-2011, 03:43 AM
Any of the HAF cases are my recommendation, you can get a nice 932 for about $89 if you watch for it on sale

Alex2142hp
05-01-2011, 05:15 AM
looks really nice of u decide to use all those components